One of the most debilitating problems that came along with my ulcerative colitis (UC) diagnosis in 2012 was nausea. Seven years later, my worst (and most irritating) symptom is still nausea. For people with UC, nausea is tough because it can be hard to pinpoint the reason — it could be stress, fatigue, an oncoming flare, a side effect of one of the many medications we take, or something we ate. According to the Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation, malnutrition and weight loss are common symptoms of ulcerative colitis. For me, nausea was definitely the big reason I lost over 30 pounds over the course of about eight weeks. Add in abdominal pain and a depleted appetite and it was difficult for me to consume the calories I needed. In my first two years with ulcerative colitis, malnourishment led to low energy, vitamin and mineral deficiencies, weakness, and the obvious loss of muscle mass and weight. On top of running to the bathroom with diarrhea between 30 and 60 times per day, I was frequently vomiting. RELATED: Is This Normal? Ulcerative Colitis Symptoms, Explained At home, my nausea was so crippling that I would take the food my dad would make for me and try to hide it in the trash. Even so, my father, a physician, was consistent and stern with his monitoring of my food intake. He knew I was always on the cusp of malnourishment, which meant another hospital stay and another PICC line. Eventually, my condition became so severe that in 2013 I had an IPAA (ileal pouch-anal anastomosis) surgery series. During these procedures, a surgeon removes the colon and rectum and uses the end of the small intestine, known as the ileum, to form an internal pouch that’s commonly shaped like a J. I have lived with a J-pouch for about five years.

Strategies for Handling Nausea After Eating

Even though I have a J-pouch, my nausea is often extremely debilitating, making it hard for me to function at work or when I’m out with friends. I’ve consulted with a dietitian who specializes in ulcerative colitis, and she’s helped me really understand what foods to avoid and why. I’ve also figured out a few other coping strategies: RELATED: How Medicinal Marijuana Helps My UC